8th term of the Croatian Parliament (28 December 2015 - 14 October 2016)

Delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe

About permanent delegation

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe – PACE is the main consultative body of the Council of Europe, the oldest European international organisation that was founded in London in 1949 with the aim of strengthening European unity and promoting democracy, human rights protection and the rule of law on the European continent. The Republic of Croatian was admitted to the Council of Europe on 6 November 1996.

The Parliamentary Assembly brings together members of national parliaments of the Council of Europe's 47 member states, acting thus as the “democratic conscience of Europe” while directly representing more than 800 million Europeans. The PACE has a total of 648 members, with each country being represented by 2-18 members, depending on the size of population, reflecting the relation of political forces and gender equality in their national parliament. 

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe is a consultative body and its members work in plenary sessions, participate in the work of committees and sub-committees and in PACE election observation missions in the Council of Europe member states. The PACE is responsible for the election of the Secretary General of the Council of Europe, its Human Rights Commissioner and the judges at the European Court of Human Rights.